2019/09/12 – You don’t know you can do a thing or not until you give it a try

Me today is quite tired. If someone is working with SCRUM, you will know that we always busy at the end of a sprint. There are a lot of things to do such as retro what you did in a sprint, demo preparing, next sprint planning, etc.

I am working in an expat team of a Japanese company in Tokyo. We use English for communicating in work but in a demonstration, we have to use Japanese for presenting a product because our third parties are Japanese.

Generally, Yuki, a unique Japanese in our team, will help me to do a demo because he can answer any related work question in a way that easy to understand for non-technical Japanese. However, today he off for his summer vacation so that I have to do it by myself.

Last night, I prepared everything in Japanese and tried to keep in mind. I also brought a script into a demo meeting and godspeed to me that my preparation worked well. I can present my work as well as answer some simple questions from the Sale team and QMT (Quality Management Team).

So if you are confusing between do sth or not, my advice is “let’s do it! give it a try” because if you do nothing you will have nothing. If you try at least, you will have a chance to get something.

That’s true


Today learning:

  • Vocabulary:
    • all-in package holiday: 
      • I always plan a vacation by myself to enjoy my trip from scratch. That is the reason why I never pay an all-in package for my holiday.
    • breathtaking view:
      • For me, Japan is the best place for traveling, because we easy to find some breathtaking views. The combination of modern and ancient things will make you surprise.
    • charter-flight:
      • My dream is travelling to the Maldives and taking a charter-flight around islands
    • check-in desk: the place at the airport where you register for your flight and deposit your luggage
      • On the contrast of Vietnamese people, Japanese people always stay queue at a check-in desk.
    • departure lounge:
      • We can find easily a good massage machine at a departure lounge in Narita airport.
    • far-off destination
      • No example
    • to get away from it all
      • The city is so noisy and crowded that I want to get away from it all.
    • guided tour
      • No example
    • holiday brochure:
      • Japanese often use a holiday brochure that introduces about their holiday destination.
    • holiday destination: where you go for a holiday
      • The next destination for my holiday is Korea. I will go there with my wife in the next year.
  • Reading:
  • Idea:
    • Making a chatbot that helps in querying related information of a product or in looking up commands or functions for usages
  • Listening:
    • https://youtu.be/QVA33KFZhUo
      • The clip tells about wildlife with our main actors are lions and hippos.
      • I never thought that a hippo is a gladiator until I saw this clip. A hippo can attack and beat a lion.

Leave a comment